Pesto, Pesto, Pesto!

I’ve been making a lot of pesto lately. Because basil upsets my stomach, and pine nuts are expensive, and I don’t like cooking with dairy products, I don’t use the traditional ingredients when making pesto. Instead, I use a variety of leafy greens in place of the basil, pumpkin seeds in place of the pine nuts, and nutritional yeast flakes in place of the parmesan.

Here is the recipe I use, adapted from a recipe I found online:

1/2 cup of pumpkin seeds
2 tablespoons of nutritional yeast flakes
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 pinch of black pepper
2 teaspoons of minced garlic
1/3 cup of extra virgin olive oil
8 ounces of leafy greens

Put the pumpkin seeds, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper, garlic, 1/3 of the olive oil, and 1/3 of the greens in a food processor. Pulse several times, then add the remaining greens and olive oil in two more batches, pulsing each batch.

In the past couple of weeks I have made three batches of pesto, the first with some curly endive I purchased at a grocery store, the second with three kinds of homegrown kale, and the third with homegrown turnip greens. Here’s a picture of the turnip greens pesto:

It’s creamier than the other pestos were, but I don’t know why.

I don’t really like eating pesto on pasta anymore, but it makes a great sandwich spread. Here’s a tortilla with some turnip greens pesto and some sauteed tofu:

Leave a Reply

