Improvised Falafel Chowder


This is one of those let’s-use-up-some-stuff-we-don’t-like-very-much-and-have-had-in-the-pantry-for-a-long-time soups. I’ve given up on making falafel at home – it never turns out as well as it does in (some) restaurants – and I didn’t like the Israeli couscous all that much the one time I tried them before. Soup season is past for me – I don’t really like eating soup in the spring and summer – but I wanted to use up the little bit of falafel mix and Israeli couscous I had in the pantry, and I was curious to see if my idea for using them in a soup would work.

Here’s what went in the soup:

Olive oil
1/4 cup of onion, chopped
1/4 cup of celery, chopped
7 cups of water
2 vegetable bouillon cubes
Approximately 1/3 cup of dry falafel mix
Approximately 1 cup of Israeli couscous
1/2 cup of red lentils
1/3 cup of parsnip, chopped
1/3 cup of cauliflower, chopped

It ended up being really tasty. It turns out that falafel mix makes for a pretty good soup seasoning, and the Israeli couscous turn out to be a good kind of pasta for adding to a soup. So maybe I’ll end up buying falafel mix and/or Israeli couscous again, after all!

I’m calling it falafel chowder because the red lentils pretty much disintegrated, giving the soup a thick, chowder-esque consistency. The falafel mix probably helped in that regard too.

By the way, my favorite place to get falafel in Omaha is Amsterdam Falafel and Kabob in Dundee. Their falafel is more tasty and more moist than I can ever get home-cooked falafel to be.

Leave a Reply

