Homemade Gnocchi with Swiss Chard and Fava Beans


This morning I made gnocchi from scratch for the first time. It wasn’t difficult but it took a bit of time and was very messy. I followed a recipe from the cookbook my mother and sister gave me for Christmas – Vegan Planet by Robin Robertson. Basically you just bake the potatoes, mash or puree them, mix in some flour, knead the dough for a couple minutes, roll it out into thin tubes, cut the tubes into small pieces, and then roll the pieces into the traditional ovoid shape. The messiness come from the stickiness of the pureed potatoes – at one point both of my hands were completely covered with a gooey potato paste.

The Swiss chard and fava beans part of this dish I adapted from a pleasingly simple recipe that I found on the Internet a while back. I basically just added a can of fava beans to that recipe. If you make that recipe and are planning on having some left over make sure to drain all of the remaining cooking liquid off of the chard and beans. If you don’t then the gnocchi will become frightfully mushy as they sit in the refrigerator.

I am pleased to say that the gnocchi turned out really well. They were at least as good as any store-bought gnocchi I have had. In fact, I think this is the best batch of gnocchi, Swiss chard, and fava beans that I have ever made. Fine food abounds!

Oh, and the garlic I used was homegrown. I planted it in the fall of 2008 and harvested it the following July. It is of the Chilean silverneck variety.

2 responses to this post.

  1. congratulations on the gnocchi! Interesting combination with the fava beans. I like it.Since you are using homegrown garlic, would you like to enter this post in our Grow Your Own roundup this month? Full details athttp://chezannies.blogspot.com/2010/01/rambutans-plus-grow-your-own.html

    Reply

  2. […] already blogged about making this dish, but I’ve decide to type up my own version of the recipe, as adapted […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

